Make Your Life a Little Easier

Okay – I know I haven’t been posting much… but are you ready to love me for this one?

I’m going to post two links that are going to make your life much easier. At least one, if not both of these applications is going to make the day-to-day stuff so much easier that you’ll wonder how you got along without them.

I need to credit Chris Pirillo [@chrispirillo] for bringing my attention to the first one and Aaron Brazell [@technosailor] for the second one.  All thanks go to them, not me.  I’m just sharing my giddiness!

Ready?

Okay then…

Application #1
http://whenisgood.net/


You know how freaking hard it is to schedule anything in your life? Especially when you’re dealing with your busy friends and family – or trying to set up a meeting or something fun…
You send a ton of emails back and forth, right? You say “let’s get together! Do you have any time next weekend?” and you get back “Um, maybe on Saturday, what works for you?” and you say “How about 2pm?” and get back “um, we’ve got a prior engagement…”
I’d keep going – but I’m sure you know the routine from here. A dozen or so emails later you have “penciled in plans.”

Not any more.
Now you go to When Is Good?

screen shot of the whenisgood grid

screen shot of the whenisgood grid

1) Click the grid for all the times that are good for you – you get a link to email to your invitees.
2) They see your proposed times and click on when they are free.
3) You visit your results page and see when everyone can do.

No sign-up form. No password to choose. No fuss at all.

And when you’re done marveling over how easy it was to find a time that everyone can get together this time – you’ll be sending the link to everyone who ever asks you ‘When is good for you?’

Yes, if we’re in the same town you can send me a link some time to let me know when is a good time to celebrate your freedom from this little scheduling dance!

Application #2
http://awayfind.com/


landing page awayfind.com

landing page awayfind.com

Now this one is Private Beta still. So you’ll have to apply for an invite on the homepage – or wait until they go open to the public – but if you wait, you’ll be kicking yourself when you do get around to it for not applying sooner!

What exactly it does is a bit more complicated – so rather than reinvent the wheel, I’ll let you go to AwayFind.com yourself to see the full description. But what if I told you that you could stop obsessively checking your email all the time – and only check it a couple of times a day – knowing that if it’s something really important, you’ll get notified?

The Reader’s Digest version is that AwayFind.com allows you to manage your inbound email whether you are in the office or out on vacation so that the truly urgent stuff finds you. Need to delegate a certain type of email? You can do that too. Want to be able to ‘pre-sort’ your email so that it goes to different email addresses depending on the type of contact it is? Yep. You can do that too. How about having notices sent to your phone if it’s an emergency or even just that one email you’ve been checking obsessively for? Yep. You guessed it.

Alright – I won’t keep you any longer. If you’ve read this far, you’re already itching to get over to AwayFind.com and see what the heck I’m talking about. Go on. I’ll be around.
But later? Let me know what you think of it.
Because after all… that’s the only way I know whether to post more of these things for y’all or not.

Have fun being more productive!!

~ by Lucretia on July 4, 2008.

13 Responses to “Make Your Life a Little Easier”

  1. […] ajirich1 wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptOkay – I know I haven’t been posting much… but are you ready to love me for this one? I’m going to post two links that are going to make your life much easier. At least one, if not both of these applications is going to make the day-to-day stuff so much easier that you’ll wonder how you got along without them. I need to credit Chris Pirillo [@chrispirillo] for bringing my attention to the first one and Aaron Brazell [@technosailor] for the second one.  All thanks go to them, not me.  I’m just sharing my giddiness! Ready? Okay then… Application #1 http://whenisgood.net/ You know how freaking hard it is to schedule anything in your life? Especially when you’re dealing with your busy friends and family – or trying to set up a meeting or something fun… You send a ton of emails back and forth, right? You say “let’s get together! Do you have any time next […] […]

  2. thanks for the tips! ill check out the sites!

  3. I might actually be able to get a girls’ weekend scheduled using whenisgood.com. Thanks for the tip.

  4. Wow! whenisgood.com sounds like a really useful application – I’ll have to put it to good use and schedule a date night with my hubby, I never know when he’ll be in the country.

  5. I like the idea of whenisgood.com! Thanks for the tip!

  6. Anything that makes life easier is very good! Thanks for the info.

  7. Hey, thanks for sharing these. Whenisgood sounds really neat, and I’ll have to check it out. I’ve used http://www.scheduleonce.com and http://planyp.us before for similar purposes…and will be curious whether this will find a place in my arsenal.

    As for AwayFind, well, that’s my product, and I really appreciate the writeup. If I can help you or any of your readers get comfortable with it, please let me know how (jared AT setconsulting dot com)! There are a few more neat features in store before we launch…and I hope it really does help people to escape from email.

    Thanks again for posting and trying out the tool. Have a really awesome holiday!

  8. Jared – thanks for the comment! AwayFind rocks, as I’ve said. Most amazing idea and fabulous implementation!

    I know I’ll be talking about it for years to come – as will anyone who gets the opportunity to use it!

  9. So cool! I think I’ll try this out with some of my girlfriends. After having kids, being able to coordinate with friends who have kids has become an impossibility! Thanks!

  10. Thanks for the heads up, Lucretia! The only thing about awayfind is that I can predict the importance of some mail, but there are other categories of press and customer service that are unpredictable.

  11. whenisgood is GREAT. thanks for the link,

  12. Linda, just responded to your comment via email. People writing to you choose the importance, not the other way around. If any of you all have questions, feel free to email and I’ll see if I can help (at least until the craziness of when things launch — jared AT setconsulting dot com). Cheers!

  13. Hola Lucretia! Love reading your posts as always, albeit just as much fun in 140 characters! Beyond my kidlets talking about picking noses sans undies, I’m also watching some of the same stuff your are. One of my little’o clients is in that mix. Have a look at Center’d — Evite meets Martha Stewart-type thingy. Would love your thoughts.

    Cheers! :) @fein

Leave a comment