Well, At Least She Learned Something in Pre-K This Year!

The following exchange happened earlier this evening…

(Buttercup, with crayon in hand, writing on a manila folder)
Buttercup: “Mommy, what’s the next letter in ‘the’? I’ve got T-H.”
Me: “E, honey.”
she writes an E
B: “Mommy, how do you spell ‘egg’?”
Me: “E-G-G, honey.”
writes it
B: “Mommy, how do you spell ‘by’?”
Me: “B-Y, Buttercup…”
writes it and starts writing her name
Me: “I’m guessing you know how to spell your name…” smiling.
B: “Yes, but Mommy? How do you spell ‘illustrated’?”
I burst out laughing in surprise
Me: “Um, that one is a little longer honey.”

Yes, she actually had me spell the whole thing out for her and wrote it on there… but wow.

I mean, I realize they talked about that sort of thing at school, because we spent a month singing the praises of “Eric Carle” and “Leo Lionni” but I wasn’t expecting ‘illustrated’ to come out of her mouth just then.

Kindergarten should be fun next year!

~ by Lucretia on June 4, 2008.

9 Responses to “Well, At Least She Learned Something in Pre-K This Year!”

  1. How cute!

    My DD does that too, asks me to spell weird things and writes long strange rambling stories, all with strange phonic spellings or mommy dictated words, LOL!

  2. Awww, what a smart girl!

  3. That is so cute! I know how it feels to hear and see how your child has learned so much from school.

    My son is 18-months old. I’m so happy with his progress. So far he can say the words flower, Mommy, Daddy, apple, etc.

  4. Very cute! And very cool hearing “illustrated” from a four year old! My 8 y.o. always tries to trip me up with supercalifragilisticespyalidocious (and insists that I always miss a letter some where–smart aleck). This is where I choose my battles. ;)

    Carol

  5. yeah, it’s kind of a “huh… wow… okay, she’s going to have a nice vocabulary…” lol.

  6. Completely sounds like mine at the same age.

    I have strong memories of Hannah declaring to mindboggled guests, at just five years old, “Daddy needs to reboot the router. The wireless has gone down.”

    I kid you not.

  7. That’s adorable!! I hope I have special moments like that someday! :D What a vocabulary!

  8. Great. BTW I love Carle and Lionni. Sounds like she was inspired.

  9. To have heard that word is one thing. To have used it is another. To want to use it herself and need the spelling? Bravo!

Leave a Reply

 
