Scope – It’s Not Just a Minty Fresh Breath Thing

It’s hard to find your voice blogging when you didn’t start off with a plan.

I mean, it’s not really that I *didn’t* start off with a plan – it’s that I started off with a rather far-reaching plan.  I thought, “Well, GeekMommy… Just be yourself!”

Only here’s the thing – just like my 10 page paper on “Africa” in the 6th grade – the topic was a little too broad to be realistic.  Because “myself” is a little complicated.  Just like yourself is.  I mean, I’m a mom, I’m a geek, I’m a dilettante, I’m a woman, I’m getting older, I’m full of opinions about everything from what deodorant to use to what operating system to use to which candidate for a given political post I prefer to oh heck… you know what I mean!

We’re all of us little complicated beings.  Multi-faceted.

I know there are times I like to downplay that aspect of myself – but in reality, there are at least 5 women living in my closet according to my clothes, the ‘groups’ of friends I have are varied in their makeups, sizes, interests and images of me.  I mean honestly.

So if I just want this to be a blog my husband and 3 friends drop in on – I suppose the “all about me” thing would work.  But I don’t.  I want this to be something that helps me to communicate with other people on the Internet.  That is part of a much larger dialog in the blogosphere.  That is a continuation of discussions started elsewhere in the social media sphere, but better defined here.

Yet I don’t want to get away from blogging about my experiences as a Mom… because my daughter is growing up so fast.  I clicked on an entry I’d written last December about her and laughed whole-heartedly because I had forgotten that conversation.

But I’m really not just a “MommyBlogger” either.  I mean, better than 80% of my posts so far have either been about tech or social media.  I had someone ask me recently why I identified myself as GeekMommy since I seemed to write so little here about the parenting experience.

It would seem that I’m going to have to figure out how to better define where I’m going with this.  Maybe I have a need for 2 blogs? (shudder) I mean I haven’t exactly been posting as regularly as I intend with just this one.  Then again – that might change if I knew I had different spaces for each subject.

Every time I start to write about Buttercup, I think “yeah, that’s one all my geek friends will take a pass on” and every time I start to write about tech, I think “oh I can see the people going to this site looking for parental blogging just shaking their heads and wondering if I even really have a child!”

So what do you think?

I’d love some feedback.

Would you split the blog? or just use tagging and fair-warning messages to let people move on if they like?  I’m throwing this out there for feedback.  Because complex is one thing.  Scattered is another.

Besides, I was so lost writing that paper on “Africa” in 6th grade that the last page ended up being a map.  And I got a C on it.  Which was a pity grade because the teacher liked me and knew I was smarter than that.

I don’t want a C on this Blog… and I don’t want to just post a map because I can’t think of what else to say.

What do you think?

~ by Lucretia on April 30, 2008.

17 Responses to “Scope – It’s Not Just a Minty Fresh Breath Thing”

  1. At one time, I had 5 different blogs, mostly because I didn’t think people wanted to read about the different sides of me. That’s just crazy (and a lot of hard work). We are multi-faceted people. Yeah, of course, some days I just won’t be in to one post or the other. I just won’t read it. No biggie. Doesn’t mean I will wipe you out of my feed list.

    If what you write is consistently good, interesting, and insightful, people will return even if it is out of their normal fare. Why? Because they’ve become collaborators with you on this blog. The connection matters.

    So my answer: be you, in all of your parts, right here.

  2. All I can offer in the way of advice is my example, which is worth exactly what you’re paying for it: make yourself happy.

    In my case, that means writing about what I find interesting, useful, or amusing on a particular day. I do use a few, very loose, WordPress categories, at least when I remember.

    So if you read my blog, you may find out what’s happening on the college search front (though that’s now finished – next is the transition), or about a trip to Paris, or where to find a refill for a particular pen, or even something technical. And, as far as I’m concerned, they’re all equally valid topics, because theryr all part of my life.

    YMMV, of course.

  3. Agreed.
    I read only a handful of specific blogs and those I do are all people that write from all facets of themselves.
    Whether you divide it or not, doesn’t matter so much in end. It’s your words, one way or another.

  4. I second Dawn’s opinion above. When I started “Papillion – Geek Life and Times” I thought the same way you did: I have to only write about one aspect of myself because I don’t want the blog to be to schizophrenic. What I learned was that, while the blog did indeed draw a tech crowd, it alienated a lot of other people who would have otherwise read my work because it was too ‘geeky’. Unfortunately, by the time I realized that, the blog was so tech entrenched that it was almost impossible to save. So I started a new blog where I can be more myself in all aspects.

    I personally love your blog. But what I enjoy is being able to learn who GeekMommy really is. Not just your geek side but the side of you that’s a mom, a wife, a friend, a techie, all of it. I’m willing to bet that all of your readers are the same. We’re interested in *you* as much as your work. And we won’t mind if you take a diversion here or there and just write about *whatever*. We’ll read it. We’re fans and friends. We’re not going anywhere.

    Be yourself. We really like you. ALL of you.

  5. One blog for the many facets of GeekMommy will work just fine! Some days you can post Geek stuff, sometimes Mommy stuff, and sometimes post stuff you have never talked about before.

    In short, be yourself. That’s why I stop by, to read about you and what’s going on in your life :-)

  6. I enjoy your blog just the way it is because everyone is complex and multi-faceted. In fact sometimes it gets a little boring to read a blog just about Tech with no other side to the writer (no personality per se) but at the end of the day it is about you and what you wish to do. So do it, we shall live with whatever decision you make, we have already by reading your blog.

  7. I’ve slowly begun to realize that we don’t merely subscribe to blogs, we subscribe to people. In all our multi-faceted scatteredness. An argument can be made about splitting your interests into multiple blogs (been there, doing that, argue with myself regularly), but often it simply boils down to your own bandwidth. Your audience will like you regardless.

  8. David is right, and Steve… genius.

    “…we don’t merely subscribe to blogs, we subscribe to people.”

    What a great point. And for my own experience, I’ll say this. The moment I began to get concerned about what I should or shouldn’t write was the time I had the lowest readership. On the flip side, my highest reader count has been during those times when I “forgot” about the audience and just wrote, for me.

    Of course, to some extend you have to think of the audience in terms of HOW to write but I wouldn’t NOT write something because you think people wouldn’t be interested. It always blows me away when I post something really personal and get the most response from it, mostly in the way of “wow, thank you for posting that” and it’s encouraging.

    It might help, as you probably have quite a few readers, to do an informal poll of who reads your blog, what their interests are, what they come here for and what they’d like to see different if they were able to change anything. You may find there are a good number of moms reading, and even tech people, who would love to see more “mommy” stuff come their way.

    It surprised me the day I found out that the 90% tech readers I thought I had who would be offended by religious-natured posts, were actually made up of 50% Christian and 40% open to hearing those thoughts from me. I wasn’t writing because I was worried about offending 10% of readers and that’s just sad, looking back. :)

    Write for you, or just shut down the blog because there would be no point.

  9. Blog about what’s going on in your life, whatever it is. If you truly are a geek and a mom, then it will shine through. Your blog will be great and people will read it because they want to get to know you. :-)

  10. I agree with keeping everything integrated. If your blogging platform supports it, you could use tags then generate a few separate RSS feeds based on those tags, so everyone gets the best of all worlds. As far as I am concerned, well, I’ll keep everything… :-)

  11. I’m a single dad who is dating, and I have the same problem with my blog Dad’s House (on alltop). Since I write about both parenting and dating, my readership is varied. I have single moms, single dads, moms, dads, married, unmarried, divorced, single women, single men, people in their 20s, 30s, 40s. And my favorite – some pick-up artists (I kid you not). It’s an eclectic crowd, to say the least.

    I keep blogging about a variety of things, but by far for my blog, modern dating is the most popular topic (online dating, hookups, booty calls, etc.). Even married people like to read my escapades, if only for voyeurism.

    My advice – write about what you’re passionate about, and readers will find you.

  12. Nooo! Don’t split the blog! You’re a LIFE blogger. You don’t need different blogs to show the different sides of yourself. If people are coming here to to read it’s for all the sides of you.

  13. Wow. Thanks you guys!!
    I think the overwhelming response was “don’t you dare separate the blog!” Unless someone who felt differently didn’t comment.

    And you know what? I’m glad I threw this out there – as I was seriously thinking I would split it. But given everything you guys have said, I’m definitely reconsidering that and sticking with things as they are now.

    See? The cool part is, smart people come here and let me know what they think!! :)

  14. Morning,

    Actually, I’ve personally found that separating out my posts to various blogs tend to make things easier on me. I have an entrepreneurial blog that’s monetized; such things turn off one audience aspect while teaching another effective marketing tips. I don’t want to lose the first audience, so I also have a Mom blog at http://www.virtual-coach.com .

    I get around the separation by gathering all my RSS feeds in one place and showing them in the second column of http://www.askowlbert.com (my metablogging site). So far, this layout seems to work for me.

    Enjoy,

    Barbara

  15. Late comer here, but I’ll throw my 2-cents in anyway :) I agree… don’t split. Chances are you’d feel split. I like the GeekMommy title because it is diverse just in the name… and you don’t expect all geek or all mommy when you come to the site. I’ve tried that. Thought I had to create 5 different sites for 5 different topics, and none of them came to be. You’re doing a great job here. And to be honest… I’m a mom that loves techie stuff.

  16. Geekmommy,
    I just found you this morning and I am not only late, I’m a newcomer pitching in on your question. Here is my take; if I were to stumble onto a geek blog, I might be marginally interested in parts of it. A social commentary blog, forget it. A mommyblog? Probably not, despite the fact my own blog takes that tone from time to time. But I have looked around here a little and this whole package is very appealing to me.
    I started my mail blog started with no intention of every really investing in it. In fact, it was a dog blog after a fashion, a way to entertain a circle of previous online friends. It became something quite more than that and so I tried splitting.
    I say keep it together. The facets are what create the sparkles.

  17. @Suzy @logophile – thank you… that just confirms my decision to stick with it.
    Thank you for giving me the feedback – it does help!! :)

Leave a Reply

 
