This isn’t your regularly scheduled post – but I’m posting it anyways

America’s Last Living Doughboy… last surviving American veteran of WWI Frank Woodruff Buckles was honored last week.  At 107, it’s amazing to think of all he has seen, isn’t it?

My Nana is 90.  She was born January of 1918 – while he was off in France driving ambulances.  He was born around the same time as my great-Uncle long passed away.
I sometimes think of all someone like this has seen.
The advent of indoor plumbing… electric lighting… automobiles… radio… airplanes… television… going to the moon… computers… the internet… cell phones.
He lived through two “World Wars” – surviving both when so many of his friends and companions didn’t.
He survived the Great Depression – the McCarthy era – the Cold War.

He has lived thru 18 U.S. Presidents.
He was 44 years old when the current President was born.

Don’t get me started on the advances in medicine – or we’ll be here all day.

Amazing… isn’t it?

~ by Lucretia on March 8, 2008.

3 Responses to “This isn’t your regularly scheduled post – but I’m posting it anyways”

  1. I know, it’s amazing! My favorite author, Grace Livingston Hill, was born in the mid-1800’s. She wrote from the late 1800’s to the 1940’s–covering two world wars and a completely changing culture. It’s just amazing to me when I think of the life she lived.

    Blessings to your Nana!

  2. I’ve been re-reading the Anne of Green Gables series by LM Montgomery the past few weeks. They pretty much cover the late 1800’s to WWI… I still love those so much.

    It’s incredible isn’t it? :)

  3. Brearmsninuem, lexapro no prescription Lexapro has proven to be a very reliable medication in the treatment of all of the approved conditions that call for treatment. http://allyourweddingplanning.com/ – purchase lexapro

Leave a Reply

 
