Duh Mommy…

At bedtime, after the books and the singing and the cuddling, I often end up telling Buttercup a story.

They come out of my head… and I’ll admit they aren’t exactly works of art… but they work for her. This might be due in part to the fact that they pretty much always start with “Once upon a time, there was a sweet, smart, and beautiful little girl named…” at which point she fills in her own name and we’re off.

Every so often – immediately following whatever tale I’ve come up with that night – my daughter comes up with her own story that she just needs to tell me right then. Not too surprisingly, it usually incorporates two things: the major plot points and elements of the story I just told her, and whatever is weighing most heavily on her mind.

We’re about 10 days out from a family vacation on a Disney cruise ship. She’s been waiting, hoping, obsessing and dreaming about it for around 6 months now. But lately, whenever we mention it, she’s been sort of nonchalant about the whole thing. Deceptively so, apparently, that crafty girl-child of mine.

Still, there’s often a small bit of humor to be found in these stories, so I thought I’d share tonight’s.

Buttercup’s Story

Once upon a time there was a little girl named Buttercup.
And she said to her Mommy, “Mommy, I want to go on the Princess Boat.” But her Mommy said “In a week.”
So she went to her Daddy and said “Daddy, I want to go on the Princess Boat.” But her Daddy said “In a week.”
So she went to the dog and said “Dog, I want to go on the Princess Boat…” and the dog said
{long pause}

Me: The dog said “woof?” (a running joke)

No Mommy, the dog said “Woofwoofwoofwoofwoof!”

Me: What does that mean?

It means “I’m really excited!!” (how I wish I could reproduce her tone of voice here – inject all the girlish glee you can imagine.)
And then she went to the cat and said “Cat, I want to go on the Princess Boat.” But the cat said “mrrrrowwwwwwww…”

Me: And what does that mean?

It means “Leave me alone, I want to poop in the cat litter now.”
And then the little girl went out in the back yard and stamped her foot.
The End.
And they all lived happily ever after.

But of course. My Felinese is a bit rusty. That’s all.

Thank goodness we all lived happily ever after.

~ by Lucretia on October 29, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
