First Things First

If you haven’t read the “About Me” section through the link on the main page, please do.

You might want to know what you’re dealing with!

That said – this isn’t my first post on the Internet, nor even my first blog. It is, however, a new start here… but rather than trying to play catch-you-up, I’m just going to dive right in. Somewhere along the way, I’ll probably back-track to cover pertinent things… but for now, let’s just get started, shall we?

Oh, and to preserve my privacy and that of those around me, I’m going to be using a lot of psuedonyms. I haven’t decided yet whether to disclose my daughter’s name here, since this is a public forum, but for now I’m just going to call her Buttercup, as it’s a nickname I use for her in real-life, and I love the Princess Bride, so there ya go.

Starting cast of characters then:

GeekMommy – me. A 40-something Mommy to one adorable girl. Happily married. Trying to balance being a geek, an older mom, a wife, and everything else at the same time.

GeekDaddy – the husband. Occasionally known as M, my husband, or something less palatable when I’m tired and cranky. He’s younger than I (still in his 30’s – I robbed the cradle!) but just as big a geek (if not bigger.)

Buttercup – the daughter. Born January 2003, as I start this blog, she’s 4 years old, going to preschool and already smarter than I am. But still smaller and as yet unaware of the fact that I am not omniscient, so I mostly win any battles… we’ll see how long that lasts. She’s my princess and a girly-girl. But she’s had her own computer since before she could walk, and she’s already got the keyboard and the mouse down cold. She’ll be the geekiest girl in pink at Prom, that’s for sure.

I’ll introduce others as it becomes necessary.

~ by Lucretia on October 16, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
