Weight Loss Wednesday – You Say Tacos, I say Mockos…

I didn’t get on the scale today – because I did on Monday as part of my participation in the Tweightloss Challenge.  I’m on a team trying to lose weight with the help and support of our Twitterpals.  So far, I’m down 5 lbs from where I started my journey and 3 from where I started the challenge.  Or I was on Monday anyways… I’ve decided to try and keep myself to weighing only once a week, or I start getting obsessive about it and that way leads to stress and neurosis for me.

But I was trying to figure out what I could post that might help someone else thinking about all of this and then I remembered that GeekDaddy & I make a recipe that goes over big with our friends and they always wish we’d told them about it sooner… so I thought I’d share it.

Several years back, we tried one of those “highly restrictive professional diets” – there are a lot of them out there and you probably see them advertised on TV and in your local paper.  This one actually happens to work – I lost over 25 lbs on it, and GeekDaddy lost 35 and hit his target weight – which is part of what proved our downfall.  It was so much easier and faster for him that I got disillusioned when I was only 1/2 way to my goal and he was done and ready for “maintenance.”  The other part of the failure equation was that the diet itself was so crazy restrictive that when I lost it and took “one weekend off to eat like a normal person” and he joined me, 3 months later we were both right back where we started.

One really good thing came out of it though and that was that the extreme lack of anything resembling a simple carbohydrate made us get creative.  We came up with ‘Mockos’ (the name is a play on words of course, mock tacos -> mockos) because we were hard pressed to find meals that weren’t boring and bland… given that salt was verboten and most food was really generally unappetizing after a few weeks.

butter lettuce

butter lettuce

What you need

~ 1 head of Butter Lettuce
~ 1 lb of lean ground beef or 99% fat-free ground turkey (the other kind is gross, thanks)
~ 1 can of either black beans or pinto beans
~ 1 bag of 2% shredded cheese
~ Taco seasonings (can either be a packet from the store or do like we do and put chili powder, garlic, onion powder and tabasco sauce in w/ the meat instead)

    Brown the meat in a frying pan, season with taco seasoning, drain off any excess fat/grease.  Zap the beans in the microwave. Set aside about 1/4 cup of 2% shredded cheese for each person.  Use the individual butter lettuce leaves like you would a tortilla – so like a mini burrito or soft taco –  you are going to put about 1/2 beans and 1/2 meat into a leaf, sprinkle on some cheese and roll it up and eat as you go.  GeekDaddy adds salsa to his, I don’t. To each her own.

    It serves about 2-3 people.  You may find you have “stuff” left over.  Just put it in the fridge and make it into a nice taco salad the next day.

    Seriously – it’s tons healthier and really easy.  Plus you can kind of play with the seasoning until you get it where you want it.  We’ve done it with lean beef, ground turkey, ground buffalo, and even chicken.  It’s fun and fast.

    Yeah, not much of a recipe, but seriously. Yum.

    Tell me if you try it what you think and how you make it your own!

    ~ by Lucretia on August 20, 2008.

    2 Responses to “Weight Loss Wednesday – You Say Tacos, I say Mockos…”

    1. Wow good blog. I wanted to get your permission to add this You Say Tacos, I say Mockos to my website. I will attach your link. I really want moms to see this.
      I will try that recipe out this weekend.
      I’ve have problem losing weight. I’ve tried everything. I would like to look in the mirror and see a flat stomach one day. That would be great. I don’t want to use Weight-loss surgery.
      Do you know of any sites that can help out?

      http://just4moms.org

    2. [...] weight with the help and support of our Twitterpals.? So far, I??m down 5 lbs from where I started mhttp://geekmommy.wordpress.com/2008/08/20/weight-loss-wednesday-you-say-tacos-i-say-mockos/Read “Re: Is the search not working? I am trying to search out a Taco Salad” at Recipes Forum… a [...]

    Leave a Reply

         
    Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

